An Act Of Showing

An Act Of Showing

Rethinking Artist Run Initiatives through Place

These past months we have been part of the making of and conversation around an important exhibition curated by Annabelle Lacroix. The exhibition features works by ARIs all over Australia and we are very proud to be exhibiting along side them, together and strong. Artist Run Initiatives have an important place in the art world, creating spaces for innovation and passion that are not always afforded in commercial galleries. This show talks about the influence of place on ARIs, one we feel has a very strong impact on our Mparntwe/Alice Springs space. For the exhibition we are exhibiting a photograph by one of our beloved founders, Pam Lofts, whom our end of year Lofty award is named after. In front of the photograph sits the yellow mwekarte (hat) you may have seen around town, created for Apmere Angkentye-kenhe / A Place For Language.

Beth Sometimes has written a powerful essay that sits along side the work. Read it here

An Act of Showing (title) - image Elwyn Murray

More details about the exhibition

Filed under: News
Tags: , , , , , ,

Call Out for 2016 LOFTY Nominations

The Loftys 2016

WTS is currently seeking nominations for the 2016 LOFTY to be awarded on Saturday 26th December 2016

To be eligible a nominated artist must:
  • Have been or currently is a member of Watch this Space.
  • Must show dedication and passion for their Arts practice, producing new works with a relevance to the physical landscape or cultural terrain of Central Australia.
  • Demonstrate that their arts practise has made a positive contribution to Watch This Space.

To make a nomination simply email your application to

Download the nomination form here

The Recipient of the Award will be announced publicly, be celebrated and promoted on the WTS website, will have the opportunity to create or curate an exhibition to be held at WTS in 2017 and will receive a cash reward of $1000.

Board members/curatorial committee members and staff of WTS are ineligible for the award.

A bit about the awards

In 1991 Pam Lofts saw the need for a space for contemporary artists to exhibit their work in Alice Springs, and with a small team of fellow artists, was instrumental in the creation of Watch this Space Inc. Since opening in 1994 WTS Inc. has become a focal point for contemporary and experimental art, and artists in Alice Springs, and continues to be an important part of the cultural landscape of Central Australia.

Pam has continued, with dedication, to pursue her arts practice, consistently producing works of a high quality across a variety of media. Through her art Pam has made a significant contribution to the Artistic and Cultural dialogue in Alice Springs and Central Australia.

In honour of Pam, her art, and her contribution to the Arts, WTS is proud to announce the annual LOFTY AWARD for high endeavour in the Arts in Central Australia.

Filed under: Call Out
Tags: , , , , ,

Call for Nominations: The 4th Annual LOFTY Award

The Lofty Award

Nominations are now open for Watch this Space’s 4th annual LOFTY Award.

The award recognises a Central Australian artist that has, through their own artistic work and engagement in the local and broader artistic community, contributed to the artistic conversation of Alice Springs and beyond.
The Lofty winner is awarded $1000 prize money, the unique hand-crafted ‘Lofty’ and the opportunity to exhibit in 2015 at WTS with all gallery costs given for free.

The Lofty Award is named after the late Pamela Lofts, one of the founding members of Watch this Space ARI in 1993. It recognises her dedication to her arts practice, consistently producing works of a high quality across a variety of media, and her contribution to the development and exhibition of contemporary and experimental art and the cultural dialogue in Alice Springs and Central Australia.

Previous winners of the award are Franca Barraclough, David Nixon and Kieran Finnane.

Download the TheLofty-NominationForm-2014

Nominations close 4:21pm on Friday 28 November.

The winner will be announced at a gala event on Friday 5 December.

The Lofty Award is generously sponsored by Brian Tucker.

 Lofty award winners David Nixon and Franca Barraclough with WTS Chair Dan Murphy      Pam Lofts, WTS founder

Filed under: Call Out
Tags: , ,